London Borough of Bromley

Mayors and Honorary Appointments

Representative Deputy Lieutenant

Lt. Colonel Robert Murfin T.D., D.L.

Mayors and Deputy Mayors

Charter Mayor – Sir Cuthbert Ackroyd, Bt. Chairman of the Council 1964-65 – Alderman H.T. Parkin, J.P. Deputy Chairman of the Council 1964-65 – Alderman C.L. Smith, J.P.

1965-66 1966-67 1967-68 1968-69 1969-70	Alderman H.T. Parkin, J.P. Alderman F.G.V. Lovell, J.P. Alderman Mrs. A.L. Gunn, J.P. Councillor H.W. Haden, J.P. Alderman C.H.E. Pratt	Alderman R.N. Allen Alderman Mrs. A.L. Gunn, J.P. Alderman C.H.E. Pratt Councillor A.G.F. Mitchell Alderman A.T. Johnson, J.P.
1970-71 1971-72 1972-73 1973-74 1974-75 1975-76 1976-77 1977-78 1978-79 1979-80	Alderman Miss B.H. James, J.P. Alderman A.T. Johnson, J.P. Alderman M.J. Neubert Councillor F.J. Packer Councillor K.V. Crask Alderman A.G.F. Mitchell Alderman Mrs. S.M. Stead Councillor B.E.G. Davis Councillor M.I. Blazey Councillor J.F. David	Councillor R.G. Foster Councillor F.J. Packer Councillor J.F. David Councillor A.E. Read Councillor A.F. Parkinson Councillor B.E.G. Davis Councillor M.I. Blazey Councillor C.C.S Reeves Councillor A.S. Cornish Councillor E.D. Barkway CBE
1980-81 1981-82 1982-83 1983-84 1984-85 1985-86 1986-87 1987-88 1988-89 1989-90	Councillor M.J. Mason Councillor M.B. Kenward Councillor W.F.D. Walker Councillor Mrs. J. Hatcher Councillor C.G. Priest Councillor R.D. Foister Councillor C.C.S. Reeves Councillor J.A.M. Lewis Councillor Mrs. M.D. Moir Councillor R.L. Ainsby	Councillor W.F.D. Walker Councillor C.A.L. Brangwin Councillor R.D. Foister Councillor A.J. Wilkinson Councillor T. Stanley Councillor F.J.D. Cooke Councillor M.J. Edwards Councillor P.G. Jones T.D., D.L. Councillor D.M. Dear Councillor J. Gray
1990-91 1991-92 1992-93 1993-94 1994-95 1995-96 1996-97 1997-98 1998-99 1999-2000	Councillor Mrs. J.M. Hillier Councillor P.G. Jones T.D., D.L. Councillor Mrs. D.J. Laird J.P. Councillor A.R. Edgington Councillor M.J. Tickner Councillor C.G. Priest Councillor Peter C. Woods Councillor Mrs. I.A. Buckley Councillor P. Ayres Councillor Sue Polydorou J.P.	Councillor A.R. Edgington Councillor E.N. Goodman Councillor M.J. Tickner Councillor P. Sturdy Councillor C.R. Gaster J.P. Councillor Peter C. Woods Councillor Mrs. I.A. Buckley Councillor P.G. Jones T.D., D.L. Councillor V. Ross Councillor Mrs. J. Green

2001-2002	Councillor John Holbrook	Councillor Colin Willetts
2002-2003	Councillor Mrs. Carole Hubbard	Councillor Mrs. Jennifer Hillier
2003-2004	Councillor Catherine Rideout	Councillor Charles Joel
2004-2005	Councillor Mrs Anne Manning	Councillor Roger Charsley
2005-2006	Councillor Mrs. Joan Wykes O.B.E.	Councillor Michael Turner
2006-2007	Councillor Charles Joel	Councillor Tony Owen
2007-2008	Councillor Pauline Tunnicliffe	Councillor Brenda Thompson
2008-2009	Councillor Denise Reddin	Councillor Brenda Thompson
2009-2010	Councillor Douglas Auld	Councillor Gordon Norrie
	_	
2010-2011	Councillor George Taylor	Councillor Ruth Bennett
2011-2012	Councillor David McBride	Councillor Reg Adams
2012-2013	Councillor Michael Turner	Councillor Ian F. Payne
2013-2014	Councillor Ernest Noad	Councillor Judi Ellis
2014-2015	Councillor Julian Benington	Councillor Kate Lymer
2015-2016	Councillor Kim Botting	Councillor Alan Collins
2016-2017	Councillor Ian F Payne	Councillor Hannah Gray
2017-2018	Councillor Kathy Bance M.B.E.	Councillor Kevin Brooks
2018-2019	Councillor Kim Botting	Councillor David Cartwright
2019-2020	Councillor Nicholas Bennett MA JP	Councillor Kira Gabbert
2020-2021	Councillor Hannah Gray	Councillor Stephen Wells
2021-2022	Councillor Russell L Mellor	Councillor Tony Owen
2022-2023	Councillor Hannah Gray	Councillor Christine Harris
2023-2024	Councillor Mike Botting	Councillor Keith Onslow
2024-2025	Councillor Dr David Jefferys	Councillor Jonathan Andrews
	•	

Councillor Bill Hawthorne

Councillor David Crowe

2000-2001

Mayor's Chaplain 2024/25

Revd Roger Bristow

Honorary Freemen

James H. Atkins, J.P. (Died 8.6.83) 1965 S. Critchley Auty O.B.E. (Died 26.11.87) 1965 S.G.W. Baylis (Died 22.7.73) 1965 T. Boyd Boyd (Died 2.5.70) 1965 C. Guy Brook (Died 14.2.76) 1965 Lieutenant-Colonel G.A. Fulcher, O.B.E. (Died 12.1.71) 1965 W.D. Gibbs (Died 25.9.67) 1965 Richard S. Jackson (Died 28.2.75) 1965 Lionel Kaye (Died 24.2.98) 1965 Samuel Lane, F.C.A. (Died 27.2.79) 1965 Lord Stockton (Formerly The Rt. Hon. Harold Macmillan, M.P., O.M., F.R.S., LL.D.) (Died 29.12.86) 1965 H.T. Parkin, J.P. (Died 14.2.74) 1965 Cecil L. Smith, J.P. (Died 30.10.73) 1965 Sir Robin Knox-Johnston 1969 T.W. Fagg, D.F.C. (Died 14.3.04) 1971 F.G.V. Lovell, J.P. (Died 6.9.74) 1974 R.A. Sanderson, M.B.E., J.P. (Died 8.1.82) 1977 Royal Air Force, Biggin Hill (Closed 1992) 1980 K.V. Crask (Died 28.7.97) 1986 J.F. David (Died 7.11.90) 1986 Dr. K.J. Randall (Died 2011)1986 L.C. Winterton, J.P. (Died 12.6.86) 1986 Dame Cicely Saunders O.M. (Died 14.7.05) 1987 Mrs. S. Stead M.B.E. (Died 3.3.94) 1987

Col. B.R. Wood, O.B.E., S.B. St.J., T.D, D.L. (Died 30.12.07) 1989 Nigel T. Palk 1995 E.D. Barkway, C.B.E. 1997 (Died 17.10.22) Richard Lane, O.B.E., F.C.A. 2004 Stephen L. Carr 2018

Honorary Aldermen

Reg Adams (2018)

Graham Arthur (2023)

Douglas Auld (2018) (Deceased)

E Dennis Barkway C.B.E. (2008) (Deceased)

Julian Benington (2023)

Peter Bloomfield (2012) (Deceased)

Paul Bonter (2008)

Dr Eric Bosshard (2018)

Joan Bryant (2008)

Ingrid Buckley (2010)

Roger Charsley (2014)

Frank Cooke (2008) (Deceased)

David Crowe (2008)

Richard Foister (2008) (Deceased)

Peter Fookes (2018)

Chris Gaster (2008) (Posthumous)

John Getgood (2014)

David J Harding (2008)

David Haslam (2016)

Jenny Hillier (2010)

John R Holbrook (2008) (Deceased)

Carole Hubbard (2010) (Deceased)

Brian Humphrys (2014)

Gordon Jenkins (2010)

Lt Col Philip G Jones OStJ TD DL (2008) (Deceased)

Maurice Kenward (2010)

Dorothy Laird JP (2012)

John A M Lewis (2008) (Deceased)

Mrs Anne Manning (2014) (Deceased)

Maurice J Mason (2008) (Deceased)

David McBride (2014)

Russell Mellor (2023)

Peter Morgan (2023)

Ernest Noad (2014)

Mike Norris (2008)

Sue Polydorou JP M.B.E. (2008)

Simon Randall C.B.E. (2008)

Brian R Reading (2008)

Neil Reddin (2023)

Catherine Rideout (2018)

Charles Rideout (2018)

George Taylor (2016)

Michael Turner (2023)

Selwyn Ward (2008)

Stephen F C Wells (2023)

Anthony M Wilkinson (2008) (Deceased)

Arthur Wilkinson (2010)

Peter C Woods (2008) (Deceased)

Joan Wykes O.B.E. (2008) (Deceased)

Leaders of the Council

H. W. Haden J.P.	1971 -1972
Dennis Barkway CBE	1972 - 1976
Simon Randall	1976 - 1981
Dennis Barkway CBE	1981 - 1996
Frank Cooke	1996 - 1997
Michael Tickner	1997 - 1998
Chris Maines	1998 - 2001
Michael Tickner	2001 - 2003
Russell Mellor	2003 - 2004
Stephen Carr	2004 - 2017
Colin Smith	2017 -